Iganga Woman MP Bye-elections: NRM Trounces FDC, Independents as Asinde is Declared Winner

President Museveni meets Asinde during campaigns recently

By Shamir Byakika

IGANGA, Uganda: The electoral commission has declared NRM’s Asinde Suubi Brenda as the winner for Iganga District Woman MP seat. The NRM‘s Asinde Brenda scored 43,197   votes, while her rival FDC’s Mariam Nantale gannered 24,077 votes.

The three independent candidates who include Ms Oliver Kwagala, got   1,212 votes, Asha Babirye  7,052   votes and Ms Aziza Kakerewe was the last with 689 votes

Asinde was declared winner of the by-election at exactly 03:05am by the Returning Officer for Iganga Mercy Ataho. She said votes from 378 polling stations counted out of the 382 following the cancellation of four over violence.

Ataho said the four include Nabitovu polling station in Nakigo Sub County where votes exceeded the number of registered voters, Bupingo primary school polling station, in Ibulanku Sub County where ballot boxes, ballot papers, and booklets were grabbed by un known persons.

“Another one is Bulubandi Primary School polling station in Nakigo sub county, where a group of persons disguised as voters attacked the polling station, beat up the polling officials, grabbed the unused ballot papers, marked them, broke the seals of the ballot boxes and stuffed the box with marked ballot papers, and Nakalama P/S M-Z polling station. We did receive the results,’’ she said

However, FDC’s loser Nantale vowed through his lawyers and party leaders to petition court because the election was marred with intimidation, bribery and ballot stuffing. Speaking to the media shortly after being declared the winner, Asinde said she will put more emphasis on job creation, clean water, agriculture and education

The Iganga parliamentary seat fell vacant after the death of the Iganga woman MP Hailati Grace Kaudha in July this year. The final results were as follows; Asinde Brenda   (NRM)    43,197 votes’ Mariam Nantale (FDC), 24,077 votes, Oliva Kwagala (INDEP)1,212 votes, Asha Babirye (INDEP) 7,052 votes and Aziza Kakerewe (INDEP), 689 votes.

=============================================================== "The Investigator is Uganda’s First Online News Daily with the Latest in Investigative Crime, Politics, Business, Entertainment, Sports, Jobs, Opinions and Analysis. Call Us on +256 701 120000, +256 772 097871 or WhatsApp on +256 701 760099, Email: [email protected]
The Investigator is Uganda’s First Online News Daily with the Latest in Crime, Politics, Business, Entertainment, Sports, Job Opportunities, Opinions and Analysis. We bring you with the Latest Breaking News on your Mobile and Desktop. [More Than Just News] You can Contact Us on +256 701 120000, +256 772 097871 or WhatApp on +256 701 760099, Email: [email protected]